this post is total filler

Hey look, I drew a thing during a meeting:

upload

I signed up for this blogpact thing with my friend Kathleen and some other people I mostly haven’t met. The idea is to blog once a week and encourage each other to keep up with it, or something. I’m already behind, so we’re off to an auspicious start.

Three more random things:

  • This is a perfect summary of why I haven’t done much with wearable electronics, even though they really ought to be right up my alley. There’s a lot more I could say on this. Someday.
  • The Law of Jante is apparently a thing in Sweden. Interesting cultural thing I had no idea about. (Also maybe Scandinavia isn’t just a paradise of paid maternity leave after all.) I first ran into this here, and then had lots of interesting discussions about it with my coworker who married a Swede.
  • This is a really great podcast about the history of American housing policy. Lots of (mostly pretty terrible and racist) things I didn’t know actually happened. I should really learn more 20th century history.
One thought on “this post is total filler

  1. Yes, the Law of Jante has had a big hold on us, it’s loosing its grip, though. It would be interesting to hear what your co-worker had to say.
    And yes, I do enjoy my paid parental leave (it goes both way). I’m at home with my ten-month old and in March her dad will take over and be home for another six months. I love that we have the right to do this, as well as the right to stay home (with reduced pay) if our kids get sick later when we both work.

Opine!

