year in review

top5

Merry Christmas! Here’s a quick rundown of my projects for this thing over here. And some reflections!

Top 5 Hits:

  • Various spousal-unit t-shirts. I made four, and he wears them all the time. He’s wearing one now! These were a big hit.
  • My blue burda button down. This hasn’t been worn in a bit since it’s gotten colder, but during the summer I wore it CONSTANTLY. It fits wonderfully, and works great as a lightweight coverup.
  • Baby quilt with sharks. I have no idea if they use this much, but it makes me very happy.
  • Cow pants. Silly and happy-making.
  • Izzy’s dinosaur costume. This was by far my most popular make. So many delighted comments. The cute one-year-old helps.

Top 5 Misses:

  • Both red velvet dresses. (Another one, unblogged, pictured here.) I wanted these to be at least wearable muslins, but the reality is that they each need a good 3-4″ of additional front bust length. I can’t fake that, and I hate the seam across my boobs.
  • This summer concert tee. The orange clashed with my hair, and on reflection I just can’t handle the butt-mullet effect on this pattern. I made another version in a black and white stripe, same issue. I want to love them, but I don’t.
  • This unblogged purple t-shirt. You can’t see in the photo, but the neckline was way too wide and it’s unwearable.
  • Green linen skirt. Doesn’t have room for my ass, not quite the shade of green I was going for, and too short in back. Next time, I will mark my hems.
  • This Darling Ranges dress I never even finished. It doesn’t fit, it will never fit, best to give up now.

The reflection part:

  • I wasn’t very happy with most of the things I sewed for myself. (And honestly, I just put that blue shirt on there so there’d be something for me in the top 5 list.) There are lots of reasons for this: learning about fit, attempting challenging projects, trying to use up fabric that maybe should have just been given away, and having a post-partum body that’s been changing shape and size over the course of the year (I started with a two-month old and now have a 14-month old.)
  • But I made a bunch of awesome things for other people! And more importantly, I learned a great deal about construction techniques, fitting and generally leveled up my sewing skills something fierce. I feel pretty good about that.
  • I made a lot of things, especially in the first half of the year. This is great from a leveling-up-skills standpoint, but…
  • Most of them aren’t in my wardrobe anymore. So probably I should slow down and go for quality over quantity.
  • My stash has probably grown this year, but mostly with to-be-upcycled clothing. I should probably either start sewing with it, or ditch it. I like the idea of upcycling, but I think my eyes were bigger than my stomach on that one.

Inspirations is a whole separate post, so let’s save that for later.

Finally, goals:

  • Sew more for me! I don’t want to stop sewing for spousal unit and childtron, but I’m happy to shift the focus a bit more in my own direction.
  • Make muslins. I’ve historically skipped this, but with my new bra size I really just can’t get away with it anymore. I need to do a full bust adjustment, sloped shoulder adjustment, and probably a few others on most patterns, which means taking my time on fitting makes a HUGE difference.
  • Sew everyday dresses. I need to figure out what this means – knit vs. shirt dress vs. pinafore and so on, but these are the projects that I get the most wear out of and really appreciate having made.
  • Sew some more costumey fun stuff. I love dressing up, and I want to do more of it. And I like projects that are about bringing an image to life, whether it’s from media or just from my head.
  • Make a coat. This seems like a fun challenge, and would let me tackle lots of new skills along the way.

4 thoughts on “year in review

  1. I love your goals for next year! I don’t sew costumes much myself but I love seeing what other people come up with. And best of luck with your quest for everyday dresses! They really are the most gratifying projects.

    • Thanks! When I say ‘costumes’ I really mean ‘stuff to wear to burning man’ more than cosplay, but I think as far as the internet is concerned that difference is pretty academic.

      The dresses thing has become a much bigger deal since my body got much harder to fit. I basically can’t buy dresses any more. But I love dressing that way – high “made it myself” gratification, low effort in outfit planning.

  2. Sounds like you had a pretty important year, sewing wise. I feel like most people have to make a bunch of stuff they don’t love before to teach themselves it is worth the effort to just make something really good for yourself even if it takes a long time.

    • Yeah, I really just churned through stuff this year. And some of it stuck and gets worn, but mostly not. For the most part those projects were valuable learning experiences, and I’m narrowing in on what I really should be making and wearing. I didn’t do a lot of costumey sewing this year, but that forced me to really look at my technique and up my game as far as quality goes.

Opine!

